Sunday, August 13, 2017

When Will Payments Begin?

Are you worried about getting your first workers comp check?

Are you having trouble making ends meet?

Are you wondering when your payments will begin?

According to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, “If the insurer determines you’re eligible for benefits, they will start paying for your authorized medical expenses and wage replacement (compensation), as soon as possible. Compensation benefits will be paid directly to you every 2 weeks to partially replace the wages you’re unable to earn due to your injury.”  

Your first payment won’t begin until your case has been admitted or ruled on by an administrative law judge, or until the two parties can agree upon a reasonable settlement. It may not go to trial, but your case needs to run its course to ensure you receive the maximum settlement possible. Want to ensure your rights are protected? Contact our experienced Colorado workers compensation attorneys today to get started.

Contact Experienced Colorado Workers Compensation Attorneys Today!



We’re willing to take on many cases that other attorneys find too difficult. Almost no case is too big or too small! We’ll investigate your case thoroughly and make sure you’re not being deprived out of what’s rightfully yours.

Let us help you today! Call (970) 945-2396 now to schedule your FREE initial consultation with one of our Colorado workers compensation attorneys. The initial consult with our office is free! If you have a question or concern about your claim for Colorado Workers' Compensation, please set up an appointment with us to discuss your rights. Call (970) 945-2396 today!

Monday, July 31, 2017

Understanding the Hearing Process

Are you worried about your hearing?

Are you afraid you won’t be compensated fairly for your injury?

Are you unsure what to expect during the hearing process?

At Kaufman & Kaufman, LLC., we want you to know everything you can expect up front! As a result, you won’t be misled by the insurance company during questioning. You’ll know exactly what to say. Your mind will be much more at ease!

If your workers’ compensation claim is denied after you file, it will usually take three to four months to get a hearing. While an expedited hearing can be requested, it will usually not occur any faster than a regular hearing, because the other side often asks for a continuance to prepare their defense.

What Does the Hearing Process Include?


Colorado workers compensation attorneyDiscovery- During discovery, both sides exchange information, facts and evidence that will potentially be used in the hearing.

Medical Records- The respondents for the insurance companies will ask about your medical records for the past 10 years. This is one of the key defenses they have against your claim as they explore whether you have a history of similar injuries that were not work-related.

Pre-Existing Conditions- We’ll work closely with you to identify how your workplace accident triggered the pre-existing condition or how it made it worse than it already was, if applicable.

Hire Expert Colorado Workers Compensation Attorneys Today!


Colorado workers compensation attorneys have been representing injured workers on the Western Slope of Colorado with over 72 years of combined experience. We strive to provide fair, honest, and aggressive representation.

Let us help you today! Our expert workers compensation lawyers would like to ensure your rights are protected! Call (970) 945-2396 now to schedule your FREE initial consultation!


Saturday, July 15, 2017

What is Maximum Medical Improvement?

Are you still in pain and worried that you won’t qualify for future benefits after your impairment rating?

What happens if you’re unhappy with the maximum medical improvement determination? 

Can you ask for a second opinion?

After a doctor determines your Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI), the doctor will provide you with an impairment rating. Your employer's insurance company will then use the doctor's determination to decide what, if any, future benefits you’re entitled to. If the insurance carrier admits permanent disability it will be done through a document called a "final admission of liability." At this point, any temporary disability benefits you have been receiving will stop.

Colorado workers compensation attorneys
According to Colorado state law, the insurer's decision will fall into one of four categories:

No future benefits: Your employer’s insurance company will decide that you’re not disabled and don’t require any further medical treatment related to your injury. 

Maintenance care benefits: Your employer’s insurer may determine that you need to undergo future medical care to maintain your condition. You can reach MMI even you need future care, as long as that future care is not expected to significantly improve your condition. 

Permanent partial disability: Permanent partial disability is awarded when you experience a permanent impairment or loss of function of a body part or body system, but you’re not so disabled that you can no longer work. Workers with permanent partial disability are entitled to a fixed benefit payment based on the doctor's disability rating and formulas set by state law. 

Permanent total disability: Permanent total disability is awarded to you if you’re disabled to the point that you can no longer earn wages in any future job. Permanent total disability benefits are paid for life. Usually, they’re the same as the temporary total disability payments that were made before you reached MMI; however, there’s a 50 percent offset for Social Security Disability benefits if you’re receiving these.

Are These MMI Decisions Final?


No, you’re allowed to dispute the doctor's determination that indicates MMI has been reached by asking for a Division Independent Medical Examination (DIME). Essentially, this is a request that another doctor issue a "second opinion" about your medical condition.

Get Started Today: Contact Experienced Colorado Workers Compensation Attorneys!


If you have questions about your workers' compensation rights, speak to our experienced Colorado workers compensation attorneys today! We make sure you and your case get the attention you deserve! (970) 945-2396 


Saturday, July 1, 2017

Accreditation of Physicians in Colorado Workers Compensation Cases

Have you heard too many horror stories about people who got stuck with a doctor they hated while recovering from a workplace accident?

Are you worried about finding a good doctor that can help aide you in your recovery?

Are you worried you’ll get stuck with an unaccredited doctor risking further injury or a longer recovery?

Colorado workers compensation attorneys

Getting and staying connected with a doctor for your workers comp injury is not a wonderful process. Nothing having to do with filing a claim is easy, but it’s the law, and we all have to follow it! 

According to Colorado workers compensation laws, your employer will provide you with a list of doctors that provide treatment for injured workers. However, if for some reason, you’re dissatisfied with your doctor, you’re allowed a one-time change within 90 days.

Don’t wait forever! The clock is ticking!

According to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, “Level I accreditation is available to chiropractors, podiatrists, dentists and physicians and PAs who don’t perform impairment ratings. Level II accreditation is available to qualified MDs and DOs who perform impairment ratings.” All of the doctors who are on the list that can provide treatment to you should be on the list provided by your employer. However, it’s important to do your research because some doctors may slip through the cracks. 

Ensure that your health is protected and your recovery is on an upward trajectory. It always makes sense to consult with an attorney first. No matter what happened in your case, we’ll let you know whether or not an attorney is needed immediately or at all. Don’t waste your time with a law firm that isn’t giving you answers, and charges you just to ask questions. Our Colorado workers compensation attorneys at Kaufman & Kaufman, LLC. won’t charge you anything to ask simple questions, so what are you waiting for? 

Call (970) 945-2396 now to schedule your FREE initial consultation with one of our Colorado workers compensation attorneys today.





Thursday, June 15, 2017

Important Workers Compensation Claim Timeline

Are you worried about the timeline to file your workers compensation claim?

Are you worried time has run out?

Did you know that it’s your employer’s responsibility to file your claim with the insurance company?

According to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, this is the timeline to stick to if you want to receive workers compensation benefits.

Days                Responsible Party Action

Immediately:          Employer reports fatal injuries to division
Within 4 days: Injured worker reports injury in writing to employer
Within 10 days: Employer reports all injuries to carrier/insurer

Within 20 days:

Insurer files an admission or denial of liability after receiving notice of an injury in cases where lost time, permanency, an occupational disease or a fatality occurs or at any time where a claim has been filed with the Division.

Within 45 days of the date of mailing of the Notice of Contest:

Injured Worker Files Application for an Expedited Hearing if claim has been denied in error 

Within 30 days:

Colorado workers compensation attorneysInjured Worker Must object to Final Admission of Liability if s/he disagrees with any part of it including:
 
• Filing for Division IME to dispute MMI or whole person impairment; or
• Filing for a hearing on any other issue

After 6 months:

Insurer, if injured worker objects to a Final Admission of Liability and takes no action to prosecute the claim for additional benefits, the insurer may petition the Director of the Division of Workers’ Compensation to close the claim

Within 4 weeks immediately following the termination of the continuous period of total disability:

Injured Worker Files an unemployment insurance claim

Contact Experienced Workers Compensation Attorneys in Colorado Today!


If you’re unsure whether you qualify or if you believe you’ve been wrongfully denied workers compensation benefits, speak to our experienced Colorado workers compensation attorneys today! We make sure you and your case get the attention you deserve!

The initial consult with our office is free! If you have a question or concern about your claim for Colorado Workers' Compensation, please set up an appointment with us to discuss your rights. 

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Closure of Claims & Petitions to Reopen Claims: What You Need to Know!

Have your workers compensation benefits run out, but you’re still in too much pain to go back to work?

Do you need more help recovering from your work injury?

Do you want to reopen your claim?

In the state of Colorado, closure of claims and petitions to reopen a case work like this: 
Colorado workers compensation attorneys

Closure of Claims


According to Colorado.gov, “when there is no action on a claim for at least 6 months, any of the parties may file a petition to close the claim for lack of prosecution. 

a. Following a request to close the claim for lack of prosecution, the director will issue an order requiring the parties to show evidence why the request should not be granted. A response shall be filed within 30 days of the date the order was mailed. 

b. If no response is filed within 30 days of the date the order was mailed, the claim shall be automatically closed, subject to the reopening provisions of the statute. If a response is filed within 30 days of the date the order was mailed, the director will determine whether the claim should remain open.”

Petitions to Reopen


According to Colorado.gov, you can file a petition to reopen your case based on the following:
  1. “Change of medical condition shall be filed with a medical report containing a description of the claimant’s present condition and how the claimant’s condition has deteriorated or improved. 
  2. Error, mistake, fraud, or overpayment shall identify specifically the error or mistake to be corrected or the basis for the alleged fraud or overpayment.”

Contact Experienced Colorado Workers Compensation Attorneys Today!


If you believe you’ve been wrongfully denied workers compensation benefits or need help reopening your claim, speak to our experienced Colorado workers compensation attorneys today! We make sure you and your case get the attention you deserve!

The initial consult with our office is free! If you have a question or concern about your claim for Colorado Workers' Compensation, please set up an appointment with us to discuss your rights. 

Monday, May 1, 2017

Do I Qualify For Lost Wages?

How long have you been out recovering from your injury?

Are you worried about a huge loss in income?

Are you having a hard time paying all your bills?

According to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, “If you have missed more than 3 days or 3 shifts due to a work-related injury or illness, you may be eligible to receive wage replacement benefits known as temporary disability benefits. Benefits are paid by the insurer and are calculated from the 4th shift or 4th day you are unable to work. These benefits will stop when you go back to full-duty or when your treating medical provider has determined you have reached maximum medical improvement.” These benefits may reduced in a partial capacity.
colorado workers compensation attorney

If you’re worried that you won’t be approved for additional benefits, you’re not the only one! But, there’s no harm in trying, right? Especially with the help of an experienced Colorado workers compensation attorney to represent you, you’ll have the best shot there is!

Would it help to know that our Colorado workers compensation attorney have been able to get great results for people just like you? Regardless of your situation, you deserve your legally owed compensation, and shouldn’t have to fear that you won’t be able to provide for your family. We’ve helped people from every walk of life, whether you’ve immigrated here, your boss tells you that you don’t deserve worker’s comp, or possibly even if you’re suffering from a work-related illness years after it happened.

File For Temporary Disability Benefits Today!


Don’t let the stress of missing work due to an injury or illness keep you from getting your compensation! Let our lawyers do the hard work and fight for you. Almost no case is too small for our team. If you think you are owed compensation, call us today for a free consultation at (970) 945-2396.